Friday, February 29, 2008

The All-Ballclub Team, 2008 Edition

In the interest of carrying on a tradition begun by Ballclub Emeritus El Guapo (yes, it was only one year and one time, but nevertheless), and in the interest of keeping this blog up to date with the current face of Major League Baseball, I thought it best, on this Leap Day, to offer up the 2008 edition of the All-Ballclub Team. As El Guapo noted last year, these aren't the best players in Baseball, they're not my particular favorite players, they're just a group of 40 players who, I feel, best represent The Ballclub and what we stand for here. You can click here for the 2007 list.
Although it's several months after the fact, I think it is fair and proper to award Ryan Howard the Ballclub player of the Year award, and Jonathan Papelbon as the Ballclub's Pitcher of the year for 2007. Yes, it sticks in my craw to do so, but such a title is earned, and these players have earned it.

And now, the All-Ballclub Team for 2008, in alphabetical order:
  1. Carlos Beltran
  2. Robinson Cano
  3. Endy Chavez
  4. Joba Chamberlain
  5. Carl Crawford
  6. Jermaine Dye
  7. Jacoby Ellsbury
  8. Yunel Escobar
  9. Sal Fasano
  10. Tom Gorzelanny
  11. Curtis Granderson
  12. Ken Griffey, Jr.
  13. Bill Hall
  14. Cole Hamels
  15. Josh Hamilton
  16. Brad Hawpe
  17. Matt Holliday
  18. Ryan Howard
  19. Torii Hunter
  20. Tim Lincecum
  21. Francisco Liriano
  22. John Maine
  23. Nick Markakis
  24. Pedro Martinez
  25. Joe Mauer
  26. David Ortiz
  27. Jonathan Papelbon
  28. Hunter Pence
  29. Hanley Ramirez
  30. Jose Reyes
  31. Mariano Rivera
  32. C.C. Sabathia
  33. Johan Santana
  34. Alfonso Soriano
  35. Ichiro Suzuki
  36. Nick Swisher
  37. Mark Teahen
  38. Dontrelle Willis
  39. David Wright
  40. Delmon Young
A good non-baseball example of a Ballclub Player would most likely be Antonio Pierce of the New York Giants. Again, this isn't a who's the best list. I'm not out here to crown people. It's just a list. Take it for what it is.

No comments: